Break In The Action

Home » Sports » There’s No Tasking like Multitasking!

There’s No Tasking like Multitasking!

Start here

Archives

It has been a while since my last post, not that I am neglecting my new blog, but because I’ve literally be swamped with school and work. With several national champions in the history books, records breaking, statistics churning and face paint washing, basketball tournament mode ends this weekend – it is so close, I can almost taste it. What a season it has been for  me. For those that know me, or have gotten a brief moment to actually see me in person, you are aware that my stress level these past few months have been on a steady incline. With handling four email accounts, four Twitter accounts, three Facebook pages and numerous website updating, comes a big sigh of relief knowing I can multitask as well as anyone. There is something to say about the difficulty in multitasking and time management that I have learned to control since beginning grad school last year. It seems that these past several weeks have taken a lot out of me socially. There is no doubt that I have worked harder since the end of 2010 than I ever have before.

With the ESPN Rise tournament wrapped I focused solely on school and to continue my duties on the Capital Classic. Well here we are, only a few days away and my responsibilities have increased from mere social media updates to the director of all media relations and event operations. All within a couple of weeks! Talk about pressure! The job basically fell into my hands and I stepped up to the plate to tackle it head on, wearing no helmet. Growing up and being around game day operations my entire life, I have put all my efforts into making this tournament a successful one for the players – the future of college basketball. I’ve helped with the implementation of everything including focusing on the tiny logistics of game day, what is needed and what is provided for players, staff, coaches and media, coordinating with the volunteers and arena staff regarding ticketing, food and operations, and most importantly, organizing our own staff to communicate with one another to accomplish our goals. This has been no easy feat!

I’ve learned that the key to not becoming too overwhelmed is to continue to keep track of, and document, all of our efforts as well as maintain a solid, organized schedule. In doing so, it can help in omitting mistakes from occurring and execute a plan successfully.  I basically had to create a schedule from scratch and work with what I know and fill in the blanks. I somehow also managed to create and design everything related to credentialing, even parking passes! They sure are pretty…

However, with the limited time, limited resources and little to no budget, we still have the help of people donating both their time and efforts towards this production I have no doubt this tournament; in its 38th year, will be successful. High-pressured situations are what I think I was programmed for, making any day-to-day operations in the future, a breeze.

Throughout the year I have met some amazing people, the local media outlets in the Washington, D.C., Virginia and Maryland regions embody some of the most amazing and talented people in the country. We all know how much we hate overtime in production but how we secretly love when there’s a great gamegoing on, regardless of what sport it is.

From the outside looking in, it seems like an awesome job a million people would kill to be a part of, but that is only scratching the surface. The Sports/Entertainment field a ridiculous one. I cannot tell you the number of times I have wanted to throw my phone up against a wall in frustration, I’ve lost count. Having to work on most weekends and holidays, having very little time for vacation and no break in between sports seasons doesn’t seem like the “American Dream” to most. If you read a job description that explained its requirements and didn’t mention the sports perk, would you even consider applying?

It sums up what we, as members of sports media, (at least some of us) all love to do pretty accurately. There is no sign of me slowing down, anytime soon, so buckle up, it’s going to be one heck of a ride. With that being said, when one sport ends others are already in full swing. I am beyond excited for NHL playoffs this year and rooting hardcore for the Washington Capitals to Rock the Red and bring home that Stanley Cup! C-A-P-S Caps Caps Caps!

I leave you with a time lapse video (my favorite kind) of how The Chicago Bulls basketball court transforms into the Blackhawks hockey rink in just a few hours..


Please check out www.thecapitalclassic.com for more information about our event. Sunday’s games (beginning at 1 p.m. and 3 p.m.) feature players heading to some of the top universities in the country… Georgetown, Maryland, Clemson, Syracuse, Pitt, West Virginia, Villanova, Rutgers, St. John’s, Howard, American, VCU, Georgia, Virginia, Virginia Tech and others, just to name a few. I can tell you first hand, it is a pretty impressive group to see.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,060 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Twitter!

